Skip to main content

The UNC Green Labs effort spans the university’s campus: from the EPA Building to Giles-Horney. All students, staff, and faculty from all departments, organizations, and groups are welcome to join the UNC Green Labs Committee.

Previous committee leaders include staff members from the Environment, Health and Safety Department, the Office of Waste Reduction and Recycling, as well as UNC Psychology. Ex Officio members work in UNC’s Energy Management, the Office of Waste Reduction and Recycling, and Gillings School of Public Health.

Everyone is welcome to participate in the UNC Green Labs effort and all can apply to leadership positions. The current leadership of the UNC Green Labs Committee are co-chairs Catja van Heusden and Madelyn Krueger, with Spring 2020 intern Michael Dorgan.

**Please field all Green Labs related questions through Thank you!**

UNC Green Labs Committee Co-Chairs

Catja van Heusden

Research Analyst; Cystic Fibrosis and Pulmonary Research Administration, UNC School of Medicine


Phone: (919) 966-7046

Madelyn Krueger

Junior at UNC-Chapel Hill majoring in Biology with minors in Chemistry and Studio Art. Undergraduate researcher in Dr. Alecia Septer’s lab studying genetic determinants of bacterial competition and their role in host colonization. Green Labs Co-Chair.



Michael Dorgan

Sophomore at UNC-Chapel Hill majoring in Environmental Studies and Political Science, with a minor in Food Studies. Green Labs Certificate Intern.